Last Call for Itojun Service Award Nominations

Do you know someone who has made a major contribution to the world of IPv6? Now is the time to nominate them (or yourself!) for the Itojun Service Award. Time is running out, though, as nominations are due TOMORROW, 12 July 2013.

The Itojun Service Award is presented every year to an individual or a group who has made outstanding contributions in service to the IPv6 community. The fifth annual Itojun Awards will be presented at the 88th meeting of the IETF held in November 2013 in Vancouver, Canda.

From the Award information page:

The Itojun Service Award, established by the friends of Dr. Jun-ichiro “Itojun” Hagino and administered by the Internet Society, recognises and commemorates the extraordinary dedication of Itojun to IPv6 development. The award includes a presentation crystal, a US$3,000 honorarium, and a travel grant.

The award is focused on pragmatic technical contributions, especially related to development or operation of IPv6 networking, keeping with the spirit of servicing the Internet. With respect to the spirit, the selection committee seeks contributors to the Internet as a whole; open source developers are a common example of such contributors, although this is not a requirement for expected nominees. While the committee primarily considers practical contributions such as software development or network operation, higher level efforts that help those direct contributions will also be appreciated in this regard.

Past winners include:

  • 2012: John Jason Brzozowski, Donn Lee, and Paul Saab 
    • John Jason Brzozowski for his tireless efforts in providing IPv6 connectivity to cable broadband users across North America and evangelizing the importance of IPv6 deployment globally
    • Donn Lee and Paul Saab for their efforts in making high-profile online content available over IPv6 and for their key contributions to World IPv6 Day and World IPv6 Launch
  • 2011: Alexandre Cassen and Rémi Després
    • For their implementation and design of “6rd,” an Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) protocol that aims to speed the transition to global deployment of IPv6
  • 2010: Bjoern A. Zeeb
    • For his dedicated work to make significant improvements in open source implementations of IPv6
  • 2009: Lorenzo Colitti and Erik Kline
    • For their outstanding contributions to the development and deployment of IPv6

Visit this page for all the information you need to make a nomination today.